Gershwin Rediscovered:

The Six Original Preludes and Transcriptions of

Gershwin's Player Piano Rolls and Disc Recordings


A Lecture-Recital by Dr. Richard Dowling, Pianist



Six Original Preludes for Piano Solo


Prelude No. 1 in B-flat Major (1926)

Novelette in Fourths (1919) (trans. Dowling)

Sleepless Night (Melody No. 17, 1925/1936) (trans. Swift)

Rubato (Novelette-Prelude, 1923)

Prelude No. 2 in C-sharp Minor ("Blue Lullaby," 1926)

Prelude No. 3 in E-flat Minor ("Spanish Prelude," 1926)


Improvisations and Original Works for Piano Solo


Rialto Ripples Rag (1917) (trans. Dowling)

Sweet and Low-Down (Tip-Toes, 1925) (trans. Wodehouse)

So Am I (Lady, Be Good!, 1924) (trans. Litterst & Wodehouse)

My One and Only (Funny Face, 1927) (trans. Wodehouse)


Impromptu in Two Keys (Melody No. 42, East Is West, 1929) (arr. Dowling)

Meadow Serenade (Melody No. 72, Strike Up the Band, 1927) (arr. Dowling)

Three-Quarter Blues ("Irish Waltz," Melody No. 32, ca. mid-1920s)

Promenade ("Walking the Dog" from Shall We Dance, 1937)


'S Wonderful/Funny Face Medley (Funny Face, 1927) (trans. Wodehouse)

Andantino moderato theme from Rhapsody in Blue (1924) (trans. Dowling)

Someone to Watch Over Me (Oh, Kay!, 1926) (trans. Wodehouse)

Swanee (Capitol Revue, 1919) (trans. Litterst & Wodehouse)